The chart is generally a map of the planets, showing their signs, movements and associations with each other. The planets are the energizing factors in astrology – and in life. They each animate a different force within us. The activating qualities of the planets are all pervasive, from the most visible and apparent to the most subtle and mystical. Just as the nature of Ayurveda starts with the subtle principle of a “Tanmatra” – an essence – and shows that essence expressed tangibly through an organ of action an organ of knowledge and an element. The planets also have this energizing quality – operational on the three planes of existence: Body, Mind and Spirit – Tamas, Rajas, Sattwa..

Translation Chart of the Planets:

















N. Node

S. Node

Ch. 3 – Graha Characters and Description

1. Maitreya: “O Mahārishi, you have affectionately explained about the incarnations of Grahas. Now kindly detail their characters and dispositions.

2-3. Paraśar: “O Brahmin, listen to the account of placement of the heavenly bodies. Out of the many luminous bodies sighted in the skies some are stars, yet some are Grahas. Those, that have no movements, are the Nakshatras (asterisms).

4-6. Those are called ‘Grahas’, that move through the Nakshatras (or stellar mansions) in the zodiac. The said zodiac comprises of 27 Nakshatras commencing from Ashvini. The same area is divided in 12 parts equal to 12 ‘Rashis’ commencing from Mesh. The names of the Grahas commence from Sūrya. The Rashi rising is known, as ‘Lagn’. Based on Lagn and the Grahas, joining and departing from each other, the native’s good and bad effects are deducted

  1. Names of Grahas. The names of the nine Grahas, respectively, are Sūrya, Candr, Mangal, Budh, Guru, Śukr, Śani, Rahu and Ketu.
  1. Benefics and Malefics. Among these, Sūrya, Śani, Mangal, decreasing Candr, Rahu and Ketu (the ascending and the descending nodes of Candr) are malefics, while the rest are benefics. Budh, however, is a malefic, if he joins a malefic.

12-13. Grah governances. Sūrya is the soul of all. Candr is the mind. Mangal is one’s strength. Budh is speech-giver, while Guru confers Knowledge and happiness. Śukr governs semen (potency), while Śani denotes grief.

14-15. Grah cabinet. Of royal status are Sūrya and Candr, while Mangal is the Army chief. Prince-apparent is Budh. The ministerial Grahas are Guru and Śukr. Śani is a servant. Rahu and Ketu form the Grah Army.

16-17. Complexions of Grahas. Sūrya is blood-red. Candr is tawny. Mangal, who is not very tall is blood-red, while Budh’s hue is akin to that of green grass. Tawny, variegated and dark are Guru, Śukr and Śani in their order.

  1. Deities of Grahas. Agni, Varuna, Subrahmanya, Maha Vishnu, Indra, Shachi Devi and Brahma are the presiding deities of the 7 Grahas in their order.
  1. Gender of the Grahas. Budh and Śani are neuters. Candr and Śukr are females, while Sūrya, Mangal and Guru are males.
  1. Primordial compounds. The Panchabhutas, space, air, fire, water and earth, are, respectively, governed by Guru, Śani, Mangal, Śukr and Budh.
  1. Castes of Grahas. Guru and Śukr are Brahmins. Sūrya is a royal Grah, while Candr and Budh belong to commercial community. Śani rules the Sudras (4th caste).
  2. Sattvic Grahas are the luminaries and Guru, Śukr and Budh are Rajasik, while Mangal and Śani are Tamasic.
  1. Description of Sūrya. Sūrya’s eyes are honey-coloured. He has a square body. He is of clean habits, bilious, intelligent and has limited hair (on his head).
  1. Description of Candr. Candr is very windy and phlegmatic. She is learned and has a round body. She has auspicious looks and sweet speech, is fickle-minded and very lustful.
  1. Description of Mangal. Mangal has blood-red eyes, is fickle-minded, liberal, bilious, given to anger and has thin waist and thin physique.
  1. Description of Budh. Budh is endowed with an attractive physique and the capacity to use words with many meanings. He is fond of jokes. He has a mix of all the three humours.
  1. Description of Guru. Guru has a big body, tawny hair and tawny eyes, is phlegmatic, intelligent and learned in Shastras.
  1. Description of Śukr. Śukr is charming, has a splendourous physique, is excellent, or great in disposition, has charming eyes, is a poet, is phlegmatic and windy and has curly hair.
  1. Description of Śani. Śani has an emaciated and long physique, has tawny eyes, is windy in temperament, has big teeth, is indolent and lame and has coarse hair.
  1. Description of Rahu and Ketu. Rahu has smoky appearance with a blue mix physique. He resides in forests and is horrible. He is windy in temperament and is intelligent. Ketu is akin to Rahu.
  1. Primary ingredients (or Sapth Dhatus). Bones, blood, marrow, skin, fat, semen and muscles are, respectively, denoted by the Grahas: Sūrya, Candr, Mangal, Budh, Guru, Śukr and Śani.
  1. Abodes of the Grahas. Temple, watery place, place of fire, sport-ground, treasure-house, bed-room and filthy ground: these are, respectively, the abodes for the seven Grahas from Sūrya onward.
  1. Grah periods. Ayan, Muhurta, a day (consisting day and night), Ritu, month, fortnight and year: these are the periods allotted to the Grahas from Sūrya to Śani.
  1. Tastes of the Grahas. Pungent, saline, bitter, mixed, sweet, acidulous and astringent are, respectively, tastes lorded by Sūrya, Candr, Mangal, Budh, Guru, Śukr and Śani.

35-38. Strengths of Grahas. Strong in the East are Budh and Guru. Sūrya and Mangal are so in the South, while Śani is the only Grah, that derives strength in the West. Candr and Śukr are endowed with vigour, when in the North.

39-40. Related to trees. Sūrya rules strong trees (i.e. trees with stout trunks), Śani useless trees, Candr milky trees (and rubber yielding plants), Mangal bitter ones (like lemon plants), Śukr floral plants, Guru fruitful ones and Budh fruitless ones.

41-44. Other matters. Rahu rules the outcaste, while Ketu governs mixed caste. Śani and the nodes indicate ant-hills. Rahu denotes multi-coloured clothes and Ketu rags. Lead and blue gem belong to Rahu and Ketu. Sūrya, Candr, Mangal, Budh, Guru, Śukr and Śani in their order govern red silken, white silken, red, black silken, saffron, silken and multi-coloured robes.

45-46. Seasons of Grahas. Vasanta, Greeshma, Varsh, Sarad, Hemanta and Sisir are the six Ritus (or seasons), respectively, governed by Śukr, Mangal, Candr, Budh, Guru and Śani. Rahu and Ketu denote 8 months and 3 months, respectively.

  1. Dhatu, Mool and Jiva Divisions. Dhatu Grahas are Rahu, Mangal, Śani and Candr, while Sūrya and Śukr are Mula Grahas. Budh, Guru and Ketu rule Jivas.
  1. Age. Out of all the Grahas Śani is the eldest. He bestows maximum number of years in Naisargik Dasha.
Facebook Comments

Learn about your chart.
Who are you and why you are here?

Just give your name and email address to get hours of videos and answers to these deeper questions.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Astrology and the Divine Universe

Get this powerful video series on exactly how to know yourself better and learn astrology.

You have Successfully Subscribed!