Chart Reading Intensive Course

Chart Reading Intensive Course

July 22-24, 2011 Sivananda Yoga Farm

~ Yogas :

From Yoga Karaka Chapter in BPHS

1. When an angle ruler and a trinal house ruler join or exchange with each other in an angle or a trinal house, a powerful yoga is formed.

2. If an Angle and a Trinal house ruler aspect each other, A Raja yoga will be formed.

3. Or if the lord of an angle is in a trinal house or vice versa a yoga is formed.

4. The planet that owns both angle and a trinal house by itself creates a Raja Yoga.

When this occurs that planet becomes in some ways more important than the lagna Lord. Mars for Cancer and Leo | Saturn for Libra and Taurus | Venus for Aquarius and Capricorn

All form Raja yogas by themselves when they are in an angle (houses 4,7 or 10) or a trine (houses 1,5 or 9).

5. Rahu and Ketu give the effects of the planets they’re joined as a house ruler (and also as a planet). If they’re not joined a planet, they modify the house they occupy (and also of course, the sign).

6. Rahu or Ketu in an angle joined a trinal lord or vice versa forms a Raja yoga – it becomes a Yoga Karaka.

Maha Purusha Yogas

The Maha Purusha or “Great Person Yogas”. Essentially they show each planet (Mars – Saturn) operating at a very high place, either in the sign they rule or in exaltation and in an angle.

Dhana Yogas (Wealth Producing)

When the rulers of the second, fifth, ninth or 11th houses occupy any of those houses, wealth can be produced. For example, the second house ruler in the fifth house or the ninth house ruler in the second house or the fifth house ruler in the 11th house or the fifth house ruler in the fifth house, all form Dhana Yogas.

Vipareet Raja Yogas

When a dusthana house ruler (6, 8 or 12) goes to a dusthana house, problems are overcome relative to the difficulties of that house.

Parivartana Yogas (Mutual Reception)

When planets exchange signs they form a powerful glue that gives results, per the nature of the two planets.

~ Planetary Aspects

Aspects show how a planet spreads its influence. The Sanksrit word for aspect is drishti, “glance”. As Vedic astrology is called “The Science of Light”, the planets are the bringers of that light and they “look” at each other and different areas of life and in this way share their nature.

Sun: Clarifies and illuminates but also separates based on truth and righteousness.

Moon: Brings cohesion but potential confusion due to emotional longing and a desire to merge.

Mars: Activates and excites but also leads to conflict based on individual power struggles.

Mercury: Stimulates, brings a sense of curiosity and skill but is also unfocused and over intellectual.

Jupiter: Brings graciousness and accommodation but will exaggerate and distort based on hopes or disappointments.

Venus: Brings beauty, kindness and manners but also strong desires.

Saturn: Brings seriousness and determination but also fear, worry and anxiety.

Rahu and Ketu do not have planetary aspects

Here are the planetary aspects:

1. All planets aspect the 7th house from themselves.

2. The outer planets of Mars, Jupiter and Saturn also have special aspects.

3. Special Aspects of Outer Planets: (Counting Forward)

Mars: Houses 4 and 8

Jupiter: Houses 5 and 9

Saturn: Houses 3 and 10

* Pay close attention to when the outer planets are giving the “one way” aspect to another.

~ Nakshatras and Dasas

Beyond the abstract, the most important influence Nakshatra’s have is to produce the results of planets occupying them when the dasas run.

For instance a natal Moon in Chitra will be activated in Mars dasha or subdasa. For every dasha cycle you must assess the planets in their Nakshatra.

A Few More Things. Relative to Nakshatras, always scan charts for:

• Many planets in one Nakshatra

• Many planets ruled by one Nakshatra planetary ruler

• The dasa / sub dasa planets – and any planets in their Nakshatra.

• Pay Close attention to the planets in the Nakshatras ruled by the Nodes as they do not rule signs, any planets in their Nakshatras get really lit up in their cycles.

~ Planets in Transit

In addition to looking at planetary dasa cycles for timing factors, we must also consider where the planets are moving in real time. Often the transits are more present than the dasa cycles in the person’s mind and life.

Special attention should be paid to the slower moving planets by transit and aspect to sensitive points in a natal chart. For instance, if a person has a Virgo rising sign, Saturn will currently be in their first house (as of this writing, July 2011). If a person has Mars in Virgo, Saturn will be going over there natal Mars, etc. A person who has planets in Scorpio, would be getting and aspect from Saturn in Virgo by transit.

Pay attention to the transits of:

• Saturn: This will be the stresses and pressures of any 2.5 year stretch of time

• Nodal Axis : This shows the emerging and collapsing axis of karma for 18 months.

• Jupiter: This shows the great teachings, hope and optimism for the next 12 months.

• The common sign being aspected by both Jupiter and Saturn, by transit.

Always notice and pay attention to when these planets:

Transit through the natal first house

Transit over the natal moon

Transit over any natal planet (especially the ruling planet)

Pay attention to natal planets as house ruler’s being affected by planets in transit.

For Example: Saturn in transit over the 10th house ruler will bring stress and pressure to the career – over the seventh house ruler he will bring stress and pressure to relationships, etc.

~ Harmonic Charts

The same rules apply to the harmonic charts that apply to the rasi chart (except for transits and Nakshatras). All yogas, and dasa principles apply.

Pay close attention to any harmonic chart that has the dasa of the chart ruler or the target house activated or Ruled by the dasa ruler.

~ Ripening of Karmas

In Dasa cycles, karmas are produced based on the planet as a:

A: Karaka

B: House Ruler

C: Dispositor of a Planet in its Rasi

D: Dispositor of a Planet in its Nakshatra

There is no hierarchy in the above list. You need to look for a confluence of factors to see what the most prevalent issues will be:


Pay close attention to when a Dasa/Bhukti cycle lines up with the Bhukti planet ruled by the Mahadasa planet.

For example: A Mercury / Jupiter cycle with Jupiter in Mercury’s sign or Nakshatra will be very active for showing major changes relative to what is indicated.

Nakshatra – Ruler

Aswinni – Ketu

Bharani – Venus

Kritikka – Sun

Rohini – Moon

Mrigashira – Mars

Ardra – Rahu

Punurvasu – Jupiter

Pushyami – Saturn

Aslesha – Mercury

Magha – Ketu

PurvaPhalguni – Venus

UttaraPhalguni – Sun

Hasta – Moon

Chitra – Mars

Svati – Rahu

Vishaka – Jupiter

Anuradha – Saturn

Jyesta – Mercury

Moola – Ketu

Purva Ashada – Venus

Uttar Ashada – Sun

Sravana – Moon

Dhanishta – Mars

Shatabishak – Rahu

Purva Bhadrapad – Jupiter

Uttara BhadraPada – Saturn

Revati – Mercury

Webinar replay: